No state license is required to become an HVAC technician in Tennessee.
However, it does offer the Mechanical HVAC/Refrigeration Contractor License (CMC-C) for contractors.
How To Apply:
– Must have the required liability coverage, which varies based on the contracting business.
– Must also pass a trade exam consisting of 100 questions in 4 hours, with a passing score of 73%, as well as the Business and law exam consisting of 50 questions in 2 hours, also with passing score of 73%. Each exam is administered by PSI and costs $55 to take.
– Download forms here.
Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.
For more information, visit Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors.