No state license required to become HVAC technicians in North Carolina.
However, it does offer the following contractor licenses:
– Heating, Group 1. All systems.
– Heating, Group 2. Systems over 15 tons.
– Heating, Group 3. Systems under 15 tons.
How to apply and prerequisites:
– Download application form here and along with a background check.
– You must also have completed at least 2 years or 4000 hours of industry work experience, as well as pass the applicable trade exam.
Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.
For more information, visit North Carolina State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors.