No state license is required to become an HVAC technician in Mississippi.
Mississippi offers 3 types of licenses for contractors:
– HVAC Contractor
– Refrigeration Contractor
– Mechanical Contractor
– Complete state application form along with $200 fee
– Applicants are required to have a net worth of at least $20,000, as verified by a CPA.
– Must also pass a Business and Law exam, which consists of 50 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours with a passing score of 70%, and a trade exam, which consists of 80 multiple-choice questions in 4 hours with a passing score of 70%.
– The fee for each exam is $75.
Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.
For more information, visit Mississippi State Board of Contractors.