No state license is required to become an HVAC technician in Louisiana.
Louisiana currently offers 3 separate licenses for HVAC contractors:
How to get licensed:
– Submit the application form here and along with the $100 application fee.
– Pass an open-book, written exam consisting of 80 multiple-choice questions in 4 hours, with the passing score being 70%.
– You must also pass the Business and Law exam, which also consists of 80 multiple-choice questions and has a passing score of 70%.
Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.
For more information, visit Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors.