web analytics
HVAC Certification Source.com

HVAC Certification Requirements in Virginia

HVAC technicians in Virginia requires to obtain either a Journeyman license or a Masters license.

How To Apply:
– Download the application form here.
– The Journeyman license requires 6 years of industry work experience and 80 hours of vocational school, with each additional 80 hours of education substitutable for 1 year of required work experience, down two 2 years.
– The Masters license requires 1 year of experience as a Virginia journeyman.
– Applicants for either license must also take an exam and pass both the statutory and regulatory section and the trade section. The exam consists of 70 questions in 3 hours, with a passing score of 71% on the Journeyman exam and 76% on the Masters exam.

Virginia also requires HVAC contractors to obtain a license. This license may be categorized as Class A, B, or C, depending on the size and scope of the projects to be completed.

How To Apply:
– Must first obtain a Journeyman or Master license, as described above.
– Must then take a law exam consisting of 10 questions in 30 minutes, with a passing score of 70%.
– The exam is administered by PSI and costs $30 to take.

Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.

For more information, visit Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *