No state license required to become HVAC technicians in Texas.
However it does suggest voluntary registration and certification. This registration is mandatory for technicians who are assisting a licensed HVAC contractor. The registration fee $20 and the certification fee is $35. Download the application form here.
Texas offers 4 different types of licenses for contractors:
– Class A Environmental Air Conditioning
– Class B Environmental Air Conditioning
– Class A Commercial Refrigeration / Process Cooling and Heating
– Class B Commercial Refrigeration / Process Cooling and Heating
The Class A licenses permits the holder to engage in contracting involving systems and equipment of any size and capacity. However, the Class B licenses only permits the holder to engage in contracting involving systems and equipment not exceeding 25 tons of cooling capacity or 1.5 million BTU/hour output of heating capacity.
How To Apply:
– Download the application form here (with the accompanying instructions here) and submit it along with the application fee of $115.
– Must also ask your employer to fill out the experience verification form here.
– Must pass a trade exam lasting 3 hours, with a passing score of 70%. Class A exams have 120 questions while Class B exams have 100 questions.
Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.
For more information, visit Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.