web analytics
HVAC Certification Source.com

HVAC Certification Requirements in South Carolina

South Carolina requires technicians to obtain a Journeyman or Masters license which are issued by the Municipal Association of South Carolina (MASC).

Prerequisites:
– To become a Journeyman, must have at least 2 years of industry work experience, or, alternatively, 1 year of industry work experience and 2 years of trade school.
– To become a Master, must have at least 4 years of industry work experience.

How To Apply:
– Must contact MASC for an application package and pay a $25 fee. You can find more information on their brochure here. Before receiving your license, you will also have to pass an exam administered by Prometric. The fee for this exam is $90.

There are 2 contractor licenses, which are issued by the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation:

Residential Heating and Air Conditioning License

How To Apply:
– Must have at least 1 year of industry work experience.
– Submit application online form here along with the $100 application fee.
– Take both the HVAC exam and the Residential Business Management and Law exam. The exam fees total to $100. If you pass, submit the letter indicating so along with a $10,000 bond and a $100 license fee to the state.

Mechanical Air Conditioning License
How To Apply:
– Must have at least 2 years of industry work experience. If you meet this criterion, you must contact PSI and take the Business and Trade exams. The exam fees total to $175. If you pass, submit the letter indicating so to the state.

Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.

For more information, visit South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *