web analytics
HVAC Certification Source.com

HVAC Certification Requirements in Ohio

Ohio offers two types of licenses for technicians, one for HVAC and one for Refrigeration.

How to apply & prerequisites:
– Download the application form here and submit it along with the $25 application fee.
– Must have been working in the industry in the 5 years immediately preceding the time you submit your application.
– Must take a written open-book trade exam consisting of 100 questions, with a passing score of 70%. The HVAC exam is 4 hours while the Refrigeration exam is 3 hours.
– Must take the Business and Law exam, which is open-book and consists of 50 questions in 2 hours, again with a passing score of 70%.

Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.

For more information, visit Ohio Dept of Commerce.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *