web analytics
HVAC Certification Source.com

HVAC Certification Requirements in Massachusetts

Massachusetts HVAC Technicians and Contractors License

If you are working with more than 10 tons of refrigerant, Massachusetts currently offers 3 separate licenses:

– Apprentice
– Technician
– Contractor

Prerequisites for Apprentice
– Must be at least 18 years old
– Must have a high school diploma
– Submit application here along with fee of $40
– Be currently enrolled in a HVAC school

Prerequisites for Technician:
– Minimum 6000 hours of apprenticeship.
– Minimum 100 hours education, 150 hours electrical education
– Submit application here along with fee of $75

Prerequisites for Contractor:
– Minimum 2000 hours of apprenticeship.
– Minimum 100 hours education, 100 hours electrical education
– Submit application here along with fee of $150
– Must pass required exam

Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.

For more information, visit Massachusetts Business Licensing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *