web analytics
HVAC Certification Source.com

HVAC Certification Requirements in Iowa

Iowa currently offers 3 separate licenses for technicians: Apprentice, Journeyman, and Master. Each license lasts for 2 years.

Prerequisites and steps to getting licensed (Apprentice):
– Must pass a criminal background check.
– Have earned a high school diploma or GED, be attending an approved HVAC apprentice program, and be working under the supervision of a journeyman.
– Download the application form here along with $50 fee.

Prerequisites and steps to getting licensed (Journeyman):
– Must meet the above requirements for the apprentice license
– Have at least 4 years of HVAC work experience, and pass a written journeyman exam. The exam is open-book, and consists of 100 multiple-choice questions to be completed in 3 hours.
– Download the application form here along with $100 fee

Prerequisites and steps to getting licensed (Master):
– Must meet the above requirements for both the journeyman license and the apprentice license, as well as pass a written master exam. The exam is open-book, and consists of 200 multiple-choice questions to be completed in 6 hours.
– Download the application form here along with $250 fee

Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.

For more information, visit Iowa Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *