web analytics
HVAC Certification Source.com

HVAC Certification Requirements in Idaho

Idaho currently offers 2 separate licenses for HVAC technicians:

– Apprenticeship
– Journeyperson

Prerequisites and steps to getting Apprenticeship license:

– To register as an apprentice, you must fill out the application form here along with $50 fee.

Prerequisites and steps to getting Journeyperson license:

– Must have at least 4 years work experience or equivalent education
– Submit application form here along with $35 fee
– Pass a written, open-book exam lasting 3 hrs and consisting of 50 multiple-choice questions, of which you must answer at least 35 correctly (70%) to pass.

Idaho HVAC Contractor License

Prerequisites and steps to getting contractor license:

– Hold a journeyperson license for a minimum of 2 years
– Must have at least 4 years of work experience.
– Submit application form here along with $35 fee
– Pass a written, open-book exam lasting 2 hrs and consisting of 50 multiple-choice questions, of which you must answer at least 35 correctly (70%) to pass.

Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.

For more information, visit Idaho Division of Building Safety.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *