web analytics
HVAC Certification Source.com

HVAC Certification Requirements in Georgia

No state license required to become HVAC technicians in Georgia.

Georgia currently offers two different licenses for HVAC contractors:

– Class I Air Conditioning (less than 175,000 BTU of heating, 60,000 BTU of cooling)
– Class II Air Conditioning (Unrestricted, all types of air conditioning contracting work)

Prerequisites for Class I
– Applicants must have at least 2 years of installation experience as a lead mechanic, 1 year of experience as a service technician or supervisor, and 1 year of experience as a residential supervisor. They must also have completed a heat loss/gain and duct design course approved by the Board.

Prerequisites for Class II
– Applicants must have at least 2 years of installation experience as a lead mechanic with at least one of them being commercial, 1 year of experience as a service technician or supervisor, and 2 years of experience as a commercial supervisor. They must also have completed a heat loss/gain and duct design course approved by the Board.

Steps to getting licensed:

– Submit the application found here along with the fee of $30.
– Register and pass the exam. The exam is offered by AMP and costs $133.

Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.

For more information, visit Georgia Construction Industry Licensing Board.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *