Delaware currently offers 2 types of licenses for HVAC technicians:
– Master Restricted
– Master Unrestricted
Prerequisites and steps to getting licensed:
– If you have a journeyperson certificate, you must have at least 2 years work experience. Otherwise, you must have at least 7 years of work experience under a master licensee.
– You must also achieve at least a passing score of 70% on the By-Pass Exam.
– Submit your application form along with an applicable $87 fee to the HVACR Board in Delaware before you attempt the exam. Once approved, you may register to take the exam at any Prometric testing center. The exam fee is $70 and requires a passing score of 70%.
Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.
For more information, visit Delaware Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration.