web analytics
HVAC Certification Source.com

HVAC Certification Requirements in Alaska

No state license required to become HVAC technicians in Alaska.

HVAC Contractors in Alaska are required to have a valid license. Alaska offers both Residential as well as an Unlimited license.

How to get licensed for Residential:

Prerequisites:

– A certificate of insurance for public liability and property damage insurance (not less than $20,000 property damage, $50,000 injury or death to one person, $100,000 injury or death to more than one person).
– Proof of worker’s compensation insurance
– Surety bond in the amount of $5,000

1. Submit this form.
2. Pay fee of $250 ($50 non-refundable application fee, $200 license fee)
3. Pass mandated exam with a score of 70% (46 correct out of 65 total questions).

 

How to get licensed for Unlimited:

Prerequisites:

– A certificate of insurance for public liability and property damage insurance (not less than $20,000 property damage, $50,000 injury or death to one person, $100,000 injury or death to more than one person).
– Proof of worker’s compensation insurance
– Surety bond in the amount of $5,000

1. Submit this form.
2. Pay fee of $250 ($50 non-refundable application fee, $200 license fee)
3. Pass mandated exam with a score of 70% (70 correct out of 100 total questions). There is a 4 hour time limit for this exam.

Note: Federal law requires EPA certification.

For more information, visit Alaska Contractor Licensing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *